This really moved me…

Isn’t it funny how something so simplistic can move one deep inside? I do not know if it will do the same for you, but this right here… it moved me. The imagery and the true-ness… very profound to me. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

First Snow – by Arthur Sze

A rabbit has stopped on the gravel driveway:

imbibing the silence,

you stare at spruce needles:

there’s no sound of a leaf blower,

no sign of a black bear;

a few weeks ago, a buck scraped his rack

against an aspen trunk;

a carpenter scribed a plank along a curved stone wall.

You only spot the rabbit’s ears and tail:

when it moves, you locate it against speckled gravel,

but when it stops, it blends in again;

the world of being is like this gravel:

you think you own a car, a house,

this blue-zigzagged shirt, but you just borrow

these things.

Yesterday, you constructed an aqueduct of dreams

and stood at Gibraltar,

but you possess nothing.

Snow melts into a pool of clear water;

and, in this stillness,

starlight behind daylight wherever you gaze.

 

4 thoughts on “This really moved me…

    1. Harold, thank you for stopping by. I will have to admit that it is thanks to Professsor Taboo that I have discovered new poets. He turned me on to Auben and I know try to read something new every day. But… Don’t tell him that. 😉 Just kidding… He is an amazing friend who has opened several new doors for me. Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I am going to make a concious effort to do more with my blog.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. The thanks should go to you Professsor. It is because of your beautiful posts on poetry that I have discovered new poets. I try to read something new every day and post those that really stand out to me in some way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

